Celiac Disease is a medical condition in which the small intestine is damaged when foods containing gluten are eaten. It is treated by strict adherence a to a gluten-free diet. As a Celiac, I MUST NOT EAT any foods made with WHEAT, RYE, BARLEY or OATS. These all contain gluten. Even a small amount of these foods will make me ill.
Foods to avoid: wheat flour, rye, barley, oat and spelt flours, breads and rolls, cakes, pies, cookies and muffins, noodles and pasta, soups, sauces and gravies made with any of those cereals´ flours, crackers, cracker crumbs or bread crumbs or batter, graham crackers or crumbs.
Hidden sources of gluten: HVP/HPP- Hydrolized vegetable protein/plant protein, wheat starch, modified starch, malt flavoring, malt. Any of the above ingredients can be found in canned or processed foods. Safe choices: we can enjoy fresh meat, fish, fruits and vegetables, eggs, cheese, rice, corn, soy and potatoes.
PLEASE HELP ME MAKE A SAFE CHOICE FROM YOUR MENU.